Elemental Magick – Choosing Your Ingredients (herbs, oils, resin and stones)

The ingredients of elemental magick are divided into 4 “Primary” categories: Earth, Air, Fire and Water. No ingredient has more than one primary category.

Those 4 primary categories are then further divided into “Secondary” astrological categories: Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto, Sun and Moon. Each of these “Secondary” categories possesses a particular quality or area of influence. Keeping this in mind, there will inevitably come a time where you may need to utilise more than one “Secondary” or astrological category, this is perfectly acceptable, enriching even, as it gives yet another dimension to you magickal workings.

Taking it one step further, there is the “Tertiary” category which defines the Gender of the product you’re working with: Masculine and Feminine.

Put more simply the Primary category is the divine body of the ingredient; while the Secondary category is the personality, making the tertiary category and obvious one, the sex.

Take care that these categories align when choosing your ingredients, this type of attention to detail enhances your magickal workings and helps to further align your intent.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s